Review


  • VIDEO
  • MiGMan’s World Tour - Lucerne Switzerland | Frankenstein and the Valkyries mission
  • content_pasteI've been exploring many cool areas in Africa and Europe with the help of a new series of flight plans for Microsoft Flight Simulator: MiGMan's World Tour. They include a large number of locations with illustrated guides to help you decide where to fly next. The flights are fairly short (depending on the aircraft you choose) with an emphasis on the scenic and the unusual in the huge, detailed world of MSFS.

    This video is a series of screen captures from two flights around Lake Lucerne, Switzerland, from MIGMAN'S FLIGHT SIM MUSEUM - EUROPE VISUAL VOL.4. I first flew the plan in the "wrong" order with 'Live Weather' at fairly high altitude - lots of snow and frozen lakes. Then I flew it again in the published way point order, at low level, with 'cloudy horizon' weather in late fall. I was using Bijan's Four Seasons addon as well as addons for powerlines and lifts (ski lifts and cable cars are everywhere in Switzerland). You can see those (and avoid them) flying down low.

    Switzerland is beautiful and these flights show that well. But there are hundreds of less famously beautiful places all around Europe and Africa, and this series has surprised me many times with unexpected wonders.
  • airline_seat_recline_extraMiGMan’s World Tour
  • Switzerland  Switzerland
  • location_cityBuochs
  • flight_takeoffBuochs LSZC
  • local_airportSonex Aircraft SubSonex
  • personBruce Irving
  • tagReview
  • import_contacts 2022  edit 2022-01-26
  • K.I.S.S.
  • content_pasteAfter a frustrating MSFS2020 session early this morning with the Cessna 172S and the Garmin G1000 auto pilot and unflyable frame rates (15-24 FPS), I decided to change a few things and go back to basics with the C152.
  • personBruce Irving
  • tagReview
  • import_contacts 2020  edit 2020-09-13
  • Orbiter: First impressions
  • content_pasteOrbiter is a amazing free 3D Space Simulator written by Dr. Martin Schweiger, Ph.D. Orbiter contains accurate math and orbital physics, and has an extensive community support base.
  • personBruce Irving
  • tagSpaceReview
  • import_contacts 2005  
  • Why so difficult?
  • content_pasteI bought this on Steam in December 2020 and somehow got my HOTAS to work. Cut to May 2021 and no joy. And several hours of trying every combination in the Steam settings and remapping my HOTAS to the most basic configuration. Why so difficult? I appreciate that these games were designed for consoles. A clear how-to-guide from Steam is surely not too much to ask for? The same problem exists with Ace Combat 7.
  • airline_seat_recline_extraJanes Advanced Strike Fighters
  • tagReviewInstall
  • import_contacts 2020  edit 2021-05-31
  • Dante's view
  • airline_seat_recline_extraJet-Pilot
  • Review
  • import_contacts 2001  



  • content_pasteWhat I said 18 years ago about Flight Sim 2002 seems totally applicable to this new sim:
    Previously to get anywhere near this level of detail for a particular locale you would have to purchase a 3rd party scenery pack and then suffer abominable frame rates.

    With the ability to automatically generate buildings, trees, static and flying aircraft and the associated radio traffic this package must have sent shock waves through companies whose business was based on enhancing the Microsoft sims. Still, the open architecture is there and the Pro version even includes an object / aircraft construction kit.

    I'd imagine some business plans are hastily being rewritten and in the end we are all better off.

    The sim has the ability to support computers and graphic cards that aren't even built yet - but they will be!

    Yet it still runs on an average PC and looks good. Who could have imagined 10 years ago that this level of detail and complexity could be modelled on a PC? Only in my dreams!

    MiGMan, 2002

  • airline_seat_recline_extraMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2020
  • personMiGMan
  • tagReviewEditorial
  • edit 2020-09-01
  • content_pasteMiG Alley achieved very close to a perfect blend of action and graphical realism... and managed to run very fluidly in 1999 on a Pentium 233 with a Creative 3D Blaster Banshee, and that was with all the graphics options maxed out at 800 by 600 resolution. Game developers take note - there is a market for games which actually run well on modest hardware !
  • airline_seat_recline_extraMiG Alley
  • South Korea  South Korea
  • personMiGMan
  • tagReviewKorean WarCold War
  • import_contacts 1999  edit 2019-10-03
  • In orbit over the USA and Australia.
  • content_pasteI think Orbiter should really be flown in a dark room up close to a big monitor. It's like looking out the window of the Shuttle, with Bach, Strauss, and Ravel cycling in the background.
  • airline_seat_recline_extraOrbiter
  • personBruce Irving
  • SpaceReview
  • compare_arrowsMonster 3D II  (external link)
  • Monster 3D II
  • content_pasteCombatsim article
  • precision_manufacturing3DFX
  • tagReview
  • compare_arrowsOrchid R3d II  (external link)
  • Orchid R3d II
  • content_pasteCombatsim article
  • precision_manufacturing3DFX
  • tagReview
  • compare_arrowsPure3d II  (external link)
  • Pure3d II
  • content_pasteCombatsim article
  • precision_manufacturing3DFX
  • tagReview
Read more Index